schmerica: (ds: fraser's gams)
Days 14 and 15! Yesterday's, rather late, is for [livejournal.com profile] brooklinegirl. She was there in ds fandom when I got into it, almost three years ago, and she's one of the people who's still right there in it with me, not distracted by any other shinies.

Here are some things I associate with Tracey: sea monkeys; penguins in sweaters; the word "ass-come"; everything DIRTY in the entire WORLD. Tracey is funny and cool and a great writer and a great beta, and her bitchery just makes me love her better. I actually cannot think of anyone else in fandom who has probably influenced my vocabulary and speech patterns as much as her. She still gets whiny random emails from me on a regular basis (because lj just isn't enough!) Also, she is amazingly tolerant and patient with my total antipathy towards her favorite pairing.

And where I mention Tracey, I have to mention [livejournal.com profile] estrella30. Nan has moved on from due South pretty much totally now, and I guess she is one of the biggest of BNF's over in crazy land of Wincest and CW RPF. I miss her fic a lot, but I guess we can't be selfish: Supernatural needs Nan's wackiness and awesomeness, too, and oh man, Nan certainly seems to be happy there; her love for her boys is almost tangible.

In conclusion, Nan is adoorbell. Also, she has an awesome accent.
schmerica: (ds: oh god i love these boys)
Happy birthday to me, folks! I got a blender and some gift certificates and a game of Monopoly from my family, and from fangirls I got snow kisses and MORE snow kisses and OTP picspam and a Santa-fied Fraser icon and good wishes, and there was lots of family and rummy playing and a German chocolate cake. But the very best present I got this year? My grades for this quarter, the quarter I dreaded and hated and have been putting behind me already and stop panicking? B+, B, B-, nice solid 3.0 GPA to grow on and improve for the next quarters. YAYS.

For my birthday day, I shall say nice things about [livejournal.com profile] thefourthvine. I can't imagine how any of you cannot be reading her already, but if you're not: go over and check out her journal, because TFV runs my favorite rec journal ever. My fandoms don't overlap with hers, totally (though I squee when I see DS recs slipping through), but she writes the sort of rec entries that are totally full and satisfying pieces of writing in and of themselves. Really, the links to the great stories is practically icing on the cake, sometimes.

Don't tell [livejournal.com profile] aerye, you guys, but due south seekrit santa stories are due THIS SUNDAY OMG WHYYYYYYYYYY. *flails slightly* Dear brain, please learn to organize your deadlines better, thank you, love me.

That's still plenty of time to write something that I'll like, and that I think my recipient will like, but I kind of have a choice between writing something easy and something that's more of a stretch, and I'd really like to make myself do the latter. Hmm.

Also this weekend: meeting [livejournal.com profile] liviapenn and [livejournal.com profile] ficbyzee for my birthday celebration, aka drunken sentinel night. LJ, please advise: most of my drinking has been on the level of frozen daiquiris, wine coolers, and hard lemonade, and I haven't gotten at all accustomed to the actual taste of alcohol. What would you recommend in the "super-girly or tasty" range to facilitate the getting smashed for proper appreciation of Jim and Blair? Not needing a blender is a plus.

day 12

12/12/06 21:36
schmerica: (pretty: maggie gyllenhaal cute)
Today is the birthday of [livejournal.com profile] barely_bean -- or it is for me, but the day is sadly over for her, I guess, by now. But Caro! Caro is one of the nicest people I've ever met on the internet. I mean that completely and utterly sincerely: she's nice, she's a wonderful cheerleader, she's encouraging and sweet and an incredibly good friend. I miss our hours and hours of Smallville fandom chat together, but it's good to still just have her sparkling on my friends list. Plus, we are almost birthday twins!

(Today Caro sent me a little balloon thing to sit in my lj profile. Why? Because she's awesome.)

In other news, NCIS makes me really happy. Yays.
schmerica: (deadwood: al hates all you bitches)
What is more fun than working on cleaning up your room so you can pack and go away for a few weeks and going through the laundry basket full of clean clothes that's been sitting on your floor for a few weeks because you never bothered to put away and discovering it is full of ants?

I vote nothing. This is the pinnacle of fun. You're all totally jealous.

Appreciating people! I missed yesterday's because, uh, I basically missed yesterday -- I was sickly and sleepy and in bed the entire day. So, pretend it is still Sunday, because I want to say something about [livejournal.com profile] basingstoke. Bas is a crazy good writer, and this seems to be equally true in all of her dozens of fandoms. Furthermore, she also comes across as just a fairly kick-ass person in all the other ways there are to be kick-ass, as well. Really, she is the sort of person who makes me sad that "gnawing on other people's brains" is such a socially unacceptable activity these days, because ... nummy. (Also, I never get sick of using her fic to explain skull-fucking to people. <3<3<3)

And for the eleventh day of December! [livejournal.com profile] sophia_helix is interesting, and thoughtful, and cool. Also, Sophia is really honest and open about her neuroses, which I appreciate a lot because, um, hi, I am also super neurotic! It's nice to know others freak out about the same stupid things! We haven't quite been in the same fandom at the same time -- although we both certainly appreciate the incesty goodness of Royal Tenenbaums and Arrested Development and such, and share some other loves. Plus, fandoms with girls in them = HEART.
schmerica: (ds: confused puppy)
For December 9th, I wish to say something about [livejournal.com profile] dsudis. I realize that some of these entries might be starting to sound alike, but it is not my fault I know so many totally awesome people!

It might be my fault that I can't think of more articulate ways to express their awesomeness, but oh well.

When I got into due South fandom (omigod, almost three years ago now), Dira was already there. She wrote amazingly good fic, and she was often around in #discourse and yahoo messenger at the same times I was. She gave me a tiara for being the new baby around in chat. We exhanged many affectionate totally-straight-girl online hugs and kisses. And then she posted Hawks and Hands, and the ENTIRE INTERNET discovered that she was pretty much a geniusy-genius-freaky-genius type girl. (If you have not read the hockey AU, and you don't have a weird mental block against slash, AUs, or F/K ... I don't know why not, frankly.)

Dira drifted off from Due South into her land of incesty mathematical prodigies and FBI agents, where she's been quite happily for ages now. I don't get to talk to her as much anymore, partly because she is all busy working and grad-school-ing, and partly because I assume she is much less interested in my random bouts of "SO. Ray and Fraser. They should have sex." But she is still just as smart and funny and interesting as ever, and if we ever do drift into the same fandom again? I will do a little dance of joy.
schmerica: (other: otp)
Today is the birthday of [livejournal.com profile] fox1013. It's cheating, maybe, to mention her, since I let her and the world know on a regular basis just how much I love her, but I cannot resist. I love her because she is brilliant and funny and adorable and understanding; I love her because she's one of the best friends I've ever and I feel lucky to know her; I love her for every good thing and every bad thing I know about her, and every one she knows about me; I love her for every single stupid in-joke we share.

Amy, darling? You light up my life. Happy birthday.
schmerica: (other: kitty says MEEP)
Since I did nothing yesterday, today's december project will cover two people -- and if I'm doubling up, why not make it a THEME, right? So, today is the day of an OTP: [livejournal.com profile] nifra_idril and [livejournal.com profile] lyra_sena. Yays!

The observant might notice that my darling Nifra has not actually updated her livejournal since May. But does this make her any less awesome? I vote NO. Just because she is not sharing her awesome does not mean her awesomeness has decreased!

I cowrote a fic with Nifra once, which was an awesome experience, because everytime I got stuck and sick of my crap, I handed it to her and she would add on AWESOME and also PORN. And then when we posted the story, we both got praise even though all the best stuff was her! Obviously, Nifra makes people cooler by association.

Lyra, on first glance, appears to be much calmer, rational, and all around sane than Nifra is. This is a common misconception, but the only cure is to hang around her a little longer. Sure, on the outside she is a sweet, smutty, giggly girl with a cute accent, but on the inside? WHACKJOB. (Also, wonderfully brutal beta.)

In conclusion -- okay, you know that set of pictures from cute overload, with the monkey and the cat? This one? That's Nifra and Lyra in a nutshell. POD FOREVER.
schmerica: (comics: batgirl and robin)
So, [livejournal.com profile] thete1. What to say about Te? I can still totally remember the very first time I ever got feedback from her (on some random porny Smallville story I am too embarrassed to look at now) and, man, it was so exciting! This continued to be true just about any time I got feedback from her, up to the current day. Hee. The things that most embody Te-ness to me, I think, are a) her looooooooove; b) her righteous rage; and c) her commitment to porn. Some of the most entertaining conversations I have ever had on AIM were with Te, listening to her go off about things of awesome. Some of the most thoughtful lj entries I've read were her rants and rage -- on TV shows, on fans, on race, gender, comic books, even the government. And as for porn... Well, if you don't know already, Te loves porn, and porn loves her back. Te writes too deep into character voices for me to be able to read her fic much when it's not a fandom I'm in love with, but those times when we're in the same place at the same time are brief shining moments indeed. (Now I just need to wait for her to get back from her gafiating so I can poke her about Batgirl/Robin porn. Mmmmm, otp of so many permutations.)
schmerica: (other: sleep ftw! (princess diaries))
December 4th! Today I will tell you about [livejournal.com profile] annakovsky. Here is the thing about Kovsky: when I first friended her, I read her most recent entries page -- and thene the skip back 20 -- and then skip back twenty more -- and then I said fuck it and just went back a full entire year and read forward to the current day. There is no other journal I have ever done that for, you guys. My attention span is just not that long! But you know how the first time you discovered Dinosaur Comics, you ended up spending an entire weekend reading all 500 of them in one sitting? It was like that, complete with the giggling and quoting and linking to the poor slob stuck on AIM with you while you discover it. So, in conclusion: Kovksy is funny, and smart, and sometimes she talks about geeky ancient languages, and her default icon is of Kovskyzilla about to stomp Tokyo.

Also, she almost died.
schmerica: (Default)
I didn't start working on my linguistics paper until close to 2:30 (BAD) but then I managed to get the first 1200 words done by 5:00 (GOOD). I am taking a break now to watch a half hour or so of Return of the King and write up my December 3rd appeciation.

This is rather apropos, actually, because watching LotR makes my thoughts turn to hobbits, and whenever my thoughts turn to hobbits, I think tend to think of [livejournal.com profile] monkeycrackmary. Compared to my first two days people, Mary is not as all someone I know very well, or whom I've had much fandom contact with; we've never quite been in the same fandom at the same time. But I have been reading her journal since sometime in 2002, and that is long enough to want to give her all the appreciation I can. Mary has some of the purest love ever, the kind that makes other people love things more just by witnessing it. Hobbits! Rosie Cotton! Jason Todd! Steph Brown! Supernatural! She loves, she tells you why you should love, too, and she creates things of awesome. And all of that is not evening mentioning the coolness that is Girl Wonder dot Org.

Now I think I shall order food of some kind. What shall it be! Oh, the excitement.
schmerica: (s&a: crazy)
Today is studying-for-my-Greek-final day! Huzzah!

That huzzah did not, I expect, trick any of you into thinking this is actually something exciting.

I'm not taking Greek next term, because it conflicts with two different classes I need for my linguistics major, so basically I am studying with the knowledge that I do not need to retain any of this knowledge beyond 1 pm Monday afternoon. I feel this actually makes this harder.

What I have accomplished so far: I have copied down in my notebook all the noun declension paradigms; all the paradigms for verb mood and tense and voice; the paradigms for article; how to do adjectives; all six principal parts for every verb we've learned; a list of all the prepositions and what case they take; a list of the six types of conditional sentences and what they are; a list of all the particles and conjunctions and what they mean.

(I haven't bothered making notes or flashcards of the vocab nouns and adjectives and stuff, because frankly that is the crazy easy part.)

Some of these things I do have completely memorized, but some of it I'm not there yet. (Fucking passives). But now I have six pages of impressive looking notes to use as a study guide!

DAY TWO of my December project is [livejournal.com profile] roz_mcclure. Awesome is a word thrown around very easily these days, but there is no other word that properly describes Roz.

Evidence of Roz's Overwhelming Awesome:

1) She is a hot redhead!

2) She's studying Shakespeare and gets to live in Ashland and geek out ALL THE TIME.

3) She just spent the last three months making crazy conquests all over the continent of Europe.

4) She is from the same county as me!

5) When we got together to hang out and watch movies last winter, I was high on cold medicine and almost fell asleep halfway through Narnia, and it was still the best time evah. PLUS she brought cupcakes for us to pose with and also eat!

6) She is super witty.

7) She has the best drunk posts.

7) WHAT ELSE DO YOU WANT, IT IS ROZ. ♥ ♥ ♥
schmerica: (other: nutty muse)
Pumpkin cheesecake is a food of the gods, yo. Especially when it's nice and heavily spiced without being overpowering. Mmmm. The grocery store did go a little overboard with the whipped cream, but that's easily fixed.

This term is almost over; it was a particularly disappointing one for me, so I'm already looking ahead to the start of new classes next month. Winter term starts January 8th, and goes through mid-March. The problem that's been fucking me up really badly has always been my horrific attendance rates. I'm trying to think of ways to improve this, because it's ridiculous, and I'm sick of not doing well when I should be acing everything. If nothing else, at least if I can get back on track for the next two quarters, it might at least show on my transcript that I am able to work to a high standard, and that I was committed to turning my grades around: if I ever want to go on to anything else, I'll really need that.

Do you guys have any advice on the subject? So far I'm thinking my strategy will probably be two-fold. On the one hand, I need to keep careful track of how much class I attend, and I want to make sure I keep myself accountable for it -- so you might be seeing a lot of "However-much/16 hours attended this week" on Friday entries in those months. On the other hand, I think positive reinforcement could be really helpful, but I'm not entirely sure how to go about it. Anything food-related is out, completely -- making food into a reward will fuck up my eating habits even more than they already are -- and I can't afford to really spend money, because I am a scrimping student. Any thoughts?

On another note, I've been thinking for the last week or so about something I want to do this month. December is, for me, not only Christmas and the end of the calendar year, but the end of a school term, and the end of a year of my life when my birthday comes around. It's a special month! And the internet is full of special people! So I decided every day this month I'm going to make this a project, to pick someone off my friends list and say something, just a couple of sentences about why they're so awesome.

Today is December 1st, and I want to say nice things about [livejournal.com profile] katallison. Kat Allison writes really amazing fic, and her Fraser voice is maybe the best I've ever read, but that is not why you should love her. You should love her because she is kind, and intelligent, and compassionate, and wise, and thoughtful, and interesting. She is one of the people who make the idea of being a grown-up much less scary, because it offers the chance that I might grow up to be a little bit like her.

December 2015

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223 242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page generated 25/3/26 21:05

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags